studio in a box

It’s time for my first international portrait session…

and since travelling 3000 km for one portrait isn’t easy, i want to make sure that all my equipment is safe en route, and ready to go once i get there.

You’re probably familiar with the Elinchrom Quadra system by now – the best battery operated, ultra-portable & powerful flash system out there. And with the help of my friend Cristi Uba @ F64, I’ve been able to get my hands on the best Elinchrom accessories to go with it. Thanks Cristi for that!

The “hard case” the Quadra comes with, isn’t that hard though. Actually I wouldn’t even trust my dog to step on it.

So it was time for an upgrade! Welcome HPRC 2780CW. A military grade hard case trolley. tested for virtually any possible scenario.

I got it today, thanks to the great guys over at F64. Special thanks to Iulian Capatoiu, for making this happen 😉

Right away, i found several uses for this coffin… it could be a picnic table, a bar stool or a battering ram. It supported my weight effortlessly and it’s even supposed to hold a truck, as these guys will show you .

So, what will I fit in this box?

well, to begin with, i need to start shaping the inside padding. it’s quite easy, but you’ve got to think it thru, for best optimisation.

the box is pretty deep, and there are several layers at your disposal, so you can actually stack things on top of each other, as I did with the light stands. I’d better hold on to the extra padding, I’m sure to need it some time in the future! 😀

what’s in the box? so far:

quadra generator

2 batteries

2 quadra heads

2 quadra reflector with diffuser

2 quadra power cables

2 quadra adapters

2 elinchrom compact light stands

2 portalite softboxes

1 90 degree reflector

elinchrom skyport transmitter

gaffer tape, charger, sync cable etc…

and the good thing? there’s still room for a second quadra system I’m planning to buy.

The more complex Octoboxes don’t fit, but if needed I’m sure I’ll find a solution.

close it up, and it’s ready to go.

Now all I need is to get on that bus and hope for the best portrait session in Spain.

Later!

4 responses

  1. Asteptam cu nerabdare rezultatele! Drum bun si bafta!

    March 1, 2012 at 6:54 am

  2. Pingback: Romani Frumosi – Dumitru Prunariu – Making Of

  3. Pingback: Romani Frumosi – Dumitru Prunariu – Making Of | Români Frumoși

Leave a Reply

